Frank Bond. Better known as Trev’s Dad.

It’s bloody rotten losing a much-loved parent. When the first goes, there’s such a sense of shock and bewilderment. And it probably doesn’t matter how old you are; there’s a child inside screaming “I’m not grown up enough for this yet”. There’s your own grief and despair to try to deal with, but then also, if you’re lucky enough to have had parents who loved each other until the end, there’s the remaining parent to worry about.

Trev lost his dear old Dad Frank yesterday and has shared memories of his Dad with his friends on Twitter. I do hope Trev, that you don’t mind me putting them together in one place. They tell such an interesting story of a man’s life, and attitude to his life and his family, that I thought they should be captured and not lost in a fast moving  Twitter stream. Trev, if this post upsets you more than you’re already upset  just say the word and it will be deleted.

R.I.P. Frank Bond, I’ll always love you Dad X

My Dad died, 21st November 2012, he went for his afternoon nap and never woke up again. God rest you Dad, we shall all look after Mom.

He was a Painter and Decorator by trade, very good too, made me feel inadequate in the paper hanging department!

He once shut me in a cupboard with a roller during a school holiday, having taken me to work with him, to get me out of Mom’s hair!

He taught me to swim!

One Christmas, he built a toy garage out of bits of wood for me because he was skint but I had asked for one!

He once threatened to “Put me through a window” because I had disrespected a girlfriend and her Mom

He once grew a giant marrow, he was so proud of it!

Mom used to threaten that Dad would “Belt” me if I was naughty, he never did!

Are ALL Dads the best in the world? Mine was!

It hasn’t really sunk in yet, that he’s gone, I stroked his head and imagined he was in a deep sleep!

I’m typing all of this about my Dad because it will always be here and I can remember stuff in the future about a wonderful man! {Bit relieved to see this tweet – now I’m less worried you’ll hate this!}

He and Mom were regulars in Pelsall Labour Club, where I had my first “Official” pint of his favourite Banks’s mild!

When I lost Sue, I said ” see you soon”, I said the same to Dad on Sunday!

My Mom has been so strong!

My Sister and I totally lost it but Mom, bless her, kept phoning people and doing stuff!

Spent all day with Mom, She seems a little confused but bearing up!

Saying things on social media is much easier than in RL, especially the demise of a loved one!

Trev’s Mom’s tribute to her husband:

You can shed tears that he is gone
Or you can smile because he has lived
You can close your eyes and pray that he will come back
Or you can open your eyes and see all that he has left
Your heart can be empty because you can’t see him
Or you can be full of the love that you shared
You can turn your back on tomorrow and live yesterday
Or you can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday
You can remember him and only that he is gone
Or you can cherish his memory and let it live on
You can cry and close your mind, be empty and turn your back
Or you can do what he would want: smile, open your eyes, love and go on

My Dad never told lies, that deserves BIG respect!

I have managed to tell real people that he’s died without sobbing!

I remember him drinking a whole bottle of Southern Comfort one Boxing Day, he fell asleep afterwards, obviously!

He never swore in front of my Mom, but on days when he was leading a Gang of decorators, his demeanor changed when he got in the van!

He was a Scout Leader for a while, He and Mom took a troop of us to Guernsey for 2 weeks one year, loads of fun!

We played in a “Lads v Dads” football match once, he was rubbish but did it anyway!

If I can be 50% the Man my Dad was, I can die happy.

I imagine him now, standing proudly upright, walking his faithful Bedlington terrier across the Chase watching the Deer without pain!

He used to keep a “Pea shooter” by the window of their caravan in wales to get rid of the squirrels and larger birds from the bird table!

He burnt his nose once with “Bread Poultice” to show it was cool enough to put on a cyst on my neck!

He met my Mom doing his time in National Service, WW2 had finished, rationing was still on , he was in the REME!

He once went home on leave and the family had moved a few doors down and forgotten to tell him!

He was born and bred in Birmingham, don’t hold that against him, it was 1934!

I’ve loved reading your memories of your Dad Trev. A number of people curate local history via maps, which I love, but to me there’s nothing like reading about real people and getting a measure of the person they are or were and the way they live their lives.

I’m sure most of us can relate to a number of your memories in terms of our own Dads. Well, maybe not the bread poultice one. Memories are so precious. And they’re not just snapshots in the mind; they’re our personal history, our personalities being formed and so much more.

I think this last tweet I’ve picked is an apt one to finish on. I’m guessing Mr Frank Bond had a rather dry sense of humour and wasn’t averse to passing it on.

I owed him £20, shall I put it in the collection box?

4 Comments »

  1. Mark ramsden said

    how thoughtful to pull this together and how touching all those posts are.

    I’m blubbing like a baby now

  2. Tony Moran said

    What a brilliant collection of memories and sentiments. I have no idea who Trevor is, but the tweets speak volumes about the man and the quality of relationship he had with his Dad. Fab

    • kate Goodall said

      Trev is @br007kbond on twitter Tony. He’s fuelled by red wine and real ale and is worth a follow. He’s one of life’s lovely and very genuine people.

  3. I too am blubbing like a baby. Trevor is truly one of life’s lovely people.

    Rest in peace, Frank.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

